• Archives
  • Categories
  • Oscar nominated Felicity Jones to lead Star Wars spin-off movie

    2019 - 08.16

    Rumours persist that the new movie will focus on Boba Fett. Jones has an Oscar nomination for Theory of Everything.

    More on Star WarsMore on OscarsMore movie newsMovie sessions

    Oscar-nominated actress Felicity Jones has been named as one of the stars of a new standalone Star Wars movie.

    The project is one of two standalone films in development, spun off the long-running Star Wars franchise.

    That franchise’s seventh chapter, The Force Awakens, is currently in post-production and will be released in cinemas in December.

    Jones, nominated at this year’s Academy Awards for her work in The Theory of Everything, will star in the spin-off film from English director Gareth Edwards.

    Disney and Lucasfilm have not released any information on plot or characters, though there are persistent rumours that this project will focus on the character of Boba Fett.

    Fett was first seen in an animated sequence during the widely panned 1978 television program The Star Wars Holiday Special.

    He made his live-action debut in the 1980 film The Empire Strikes Back. In that film he was one of several bounty hunters recruited by the franchise’s chief villain, Darth Vader.

    The spin-off film is slated for release in December, 2016.

    There is a second standalone Star Wars film, from American director Josh Trank, also in development.

    In May, 2014, Disney’s CEO Bob Iger said a total of three standalone films would be produced in the next decade.

    Iger said the company’s plans for the Star Wars franchise would be to produce new “core” films (that is, films connected to the franchise’s main storyline of the clash between the Empire and the Rebellion) every two years, with a spin-off in between.

    That means the planned Episode VIII would be released in 2017, with Trank’s standalone film released in 2018, and the final chapter of the third trilogy – Episode IX – due in 2019.

    The Force Awakens will feature a handful of “original” Star Wars cast members, including Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford.

    It is set 30 years after the events of Episode VI, Return of the Jedi, which was released in 1983.

    This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on 苏州美甲美睫培训学校.

    Comments are closed.